12 Republican senators defy Trump on emergency declaration

by Alexander Bolton
March 15, 2019

Twelve Senate Republicans from different corners of the party banded together Thursday to deliver President Trump the biggest rebuke of his presidency, voting to disapprove of his emergency declaration for the Southern border.

The Republican rebels joined every single Senate Democrat in the chamber in voting to block Trump’s emergency declaration, which grants him access to $3.6 billion in military construction funding to build border barriers.
The vote brought together prominent moderates — Sens. Susan Collins (R-Maine) and Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) — and staunch conservatives — Sens. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) and Mike Lee (R-Utah) — as well as other Republicans who fall between them on the ideological spectrum.

The resolution also won the support of three of Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell’s (R-Ky.) most trusted advisers on policy issues: Sens. Rob Portman (R-Ohio) and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), members of the Finance Committee who are considered experts on trade and tax policy, and Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), an authority on a range of topics.

1 Comment - what are your thoughts?

  • Gramma says:

    Susan is not a moderate. She really should change her party affiliate toD status, or “which way is the wind blowing?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Keep the Fake News Media in check.

Don’t let the MSM censor your news as America becomes Great Again. Over 500,000 Americans receive our daily dose of life, liberty and pursuit of happiness along with Breaking News direct to their inbox—and you can too. Sign up to receive news and views from The 1776Coalition!

We know how important your privacy is and your information is SAFE with us. We’ll never sell
your email address and you can unsubscribe at any time directly from your inbox.
View our full privacy policy.